Taylor Swift releases new song, “You All Over Me (From the Vault)”

Pic: @taylorswift

Taylor Swift released a new song on Friday 26 March titled, ‘You All Over Me (From the Vault.)’ The track was written by Swift between 2005 and 2007, and was previously unheard until its official release this morning.

The new release, ‘You All Over Me,’ is produced by Aaron Dessner, co-written by Scooter Carusoe, and features the backing vocals of Maren Morris. It is one of six previously unreleased, From the Vault songs. Written by a teenaged Swift, these songs are set to be included on the track-list of the re-recorded, re-released version of the singer’s hugely successful 2008 album, Fearless.

The Fearless singer announced You All Over Me’s upcoming release on Wednesday, in an Instagram post. Swift said that something she’s “been loving about these From the Vault songs is that they’ve never been heard.” Allowing her the freedom to “experiment, play, and even include some of [her] favorite artists”, referring in this case to the American country singer, Maren Morris.

“Hi. I wanted to let you know that the first “From the Vault” song I’m releasing from Fearless (Taylor’s Version) comes out tomorrow at midnight eastern. It’s called You All Over Me (From The Vault). One thing I’ve been loving about these From The Vault songs is that they’re never been heard, so I can experiment, play, and even include some of my favorite artists. I’m really excited to have @marenmorris singing background vocals on this song!! ☔️ Produced by Aaron Dessner and co-written by Scoot Carusoe – can’t wait for you to hear it 💛”

The song is very reminiscent of the Fearless era of Swift’s music. Opening with the gentle strumming of an acoustic guitar and featuring an occasional harmonica, You All Over Me offers a distinctly more country music sound than many of Swift’s more recent tracks. 

In a statement posted to Twitter in February, Swift explained that there were, “songs [she] wrote that almost made the fearless album. Songs [she] absolutely adored, but were held back for different reasons” and that she was now ready for fans “to have the whole story, see the entire vivid picture, and [to be] let into the entire dreamscape that is [her] fearless album”.

Fearless (Taylor’s Version) is set to be released early next month and will include all 19 tracks from the Platinum Edition of the album. The re-released album will also feature Swift’s 2010 single, Today Was a Fairytale, as well as the six bonus From the Vault tracks. You All Over Me is the first of these previously unreleased bonus tracks to be revealed.

Along with You All Over Me, Swift announced on Instagram this morning that a second track, Love Story (Taylor’s Version) – Elvira Remix, would also be released, “because in this house we dance and cry at the SAME TIME”.

This surprise release is in keeping with Swift’s new tradition of putting out new music with very little warning or promotion. In July of last year, Swift announced that she had finished recording her eighth studio album, Folklore, and then proceeded to release the entire album only hours later. The singer surprised fans again in December when she announced the imminent release of Evermore, her ninth studio album and Folklore’s “sister record”.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s